Yoga Sequences for the Chakras: The Seventh Chakra

We're going regal, kids.

The seventh chakra, and my final post for this series, is known as the Sahasrara Chakra, or the Crown Chakra. Governing enlightenment, spiritual development, and the mind, this chakra is best accessed with the practice of meditation. Because we cannot skip right ahead to enlightenment (ta-DAH!) and ignore the other six chakras, the seventh chakra also represents the culminated energy and associations of the other six chakras. For this reason, I would recommend a sequence using elements from every other chakra and end with 10-30 minutes of seated meditation.

Here's one example of a sequence that incorporates elements from the past six weeks, moving up the chakras as we go:

  1. Reclined Bound Angle Pose
  2. Bound Angle Pose
  3. Seated Wide Leg Forward Fold
  4. Boat
  5. Seated Twist 
  6. Boat
  7. Variation on Seated Twist
  8. Gomukhasana, repeat on other side
  9. Camel (perhaps using blocks)
  10. Child's Pose, pressing third eye into the floor
  11. Seated Meditation

And *now*.... ta-DAH!

Popular Posts